Sticks and Sarees

This week I’ve had the pleasure of spending time with some of the special women in my family: my mom and my Jaya Aunty. Jaya Aunty came from Bangalore just for me to stitch Saree blouses. She never formally learned tailoring. She just took apart her blouse and figured it out. She has a 9 part measuring system to get the body fitting perfect, because apparently the blouse is what makes the Saree beautiful.

She attributes all her work to Krishna, who also came with her on the plane. “Work is God,” she says. and “Rest is Change of Work.” Her discipline and work ethic is inspiring.

Jaya Aunty Stitching

Jaya Aunty Stitching

Jaya Aunty, Happy at Work

Jaya Aunty, Happy at Work

My mom’s friend Sandhya also came over today to help us decorate sticks for Dandia dancing. Armed with glue guns and ribbon, we were set to work. As we reached the end of our ribbon and finished the final pair of sticks, my mom started making Masala Dosai, which we enjoyed with sambar and chutney.

Sandhya Wrapping Dandia

Sandhya Wrapping Dandia

My mom with Glue Gun

My mom with Glue Gun

Sandhya also showed us the Maharastra way of wearing a nine yards, which is about as elegant as nine yards can get, but I thought I might split my nine into a six and share the other three with Mookie.

Mookie, the other very special lady unknowing of all these plans, had bits of dosa and sweet potatoes and carrots.

Mookie being helpful

Mookie being helpful

~ by sangamithra on July 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “Sticks and Sarees”

  1. Can you please show me how you stitch dandia without using the glue gun. I would like to know in the detail

  2. We used the glue gun, but an alternative could be using electrical tape to decorate the sticks

Leave a Reply

 
