Benazir Bhutto and Basement Bhangra

That pretty much sums up my day. I spent most of the afternoon multitasking some items while listening to radio reports on the assassination of Benazir Bhutto and reading blogs and articles about the incident and its aftermath. My friend Xenia and I had plans to attend DJ Rekha’s Basement Bhangra dance party tonight at SOBs. At first we were wondering whether dancing would be an inappropriate way to pay respect. But we were curious as well about what the Bhangra scene would be like tonight. Would there be any words spoken about what happened? What was the pulse of the South Asian Diaspora?

I had been meaning to attend one of these Bhangra parties for years, but never made it out, and I really wanted to be there tonight. While words were what I was seeking, none were really spoken about today’s suicide bombing—at least not while we were there. But in the end, that was ok with me. We had a really wonderful time moving our shoulders. I remembered how much I missed dancing and also how much I enjoy Bhangra. It synthesizes so much and is a dance full of camaraderie. While there was so much violence, chaos and upheaval in many regions in response to this incident, Bhangra on Varick Street was a way to celebrate life— at least it was for me tonight.

~ by sangamithra on December 28, 2007.

2 Responses to “Benazir Bhutto and Basement Bhangra”

  1. hi

    This is DJ Rekha. I spent much of Thursday doing the- listening to reports of Bhutto. I have through the tens years of doing this party, I have been challenged by the timing of tragic events personal and global. The most striking being 9/11 and Katrina. I am notthere but I did in fact I I

    take a moment out to acknowledge her passing. Serendipitously, Paul clay the video artist that mixes live visuals had cut up a bunch of footage of her. He wasn’t sure if it was appepriate or relevant. We didnt have a chance to discuss it before hand. Well after my comments he mixed in her footage. I am not sure if Basement Bhangra is a good way to test the barometer of the South Asian community, it can be one for my ramblings.

  2. Hi Dj Rekha,
    Thanks for your comments. I do remember thinking I recognized her image on the screen, and was wondering about that. Thanks to Paul Clay for his acknowledgment too.

    I do hope to be back next week.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

 
